Explaining the South Carolina Governor’s Awards

Principal Henry Darby joined by Gov. McMaster | Photo via @govhenrymcmaster

Ever wonder exactly what the state’s highest civilian honor awards are and what they mean? To be exact, these special distinctions are called the Governor’s Awards. 🏅

The three categories of these prestigious awards in South Carolina are The Order of the Palmetto, The Order of the Silver Crescent + The Certificate of AppreciationThose who have been awarded this special honorhave made significant contributions to the life + well-being of South Carolina and her people.”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Henry McMaster (@govhenrymcmaster)

🏅 The Order of the Palmetto

  • State’s highest civilian honor
  • Awarded to citizens for extraordinary lifetime service + achievements of national or statewide significance
  • Once in a lifetime achievement
  • North Charleston High School Principal, Henry Darby, recently received this award for making national news while working a third job at Walmart to make extra money to support families at the high school.
  • View all award recipients here.

🏅 The Order of the Silver Crescent

  • State’s highest civilian award
  • Awarded to those who have made significant contributions, leadership, volunteerism + lifelong influence within a region or community
  • Once in a lifetime achievement 
  • Robert E. Bohrn, a local relic hunter, recently received this award after discovering the remains of Civil War Union African American soldiers of the 55th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry in 1987.
  • View all award recipients here.

🏅 The Certificate of Appreciation

  • Awarded to recognize an individual’s outstanding achievement, commitment, act, or devotion within a community

Do you want to nominate a South Carolinian for a Governor’s Award? Learn more about award nominations here.