13 spring events happening in Charleston

Spring is fast approaching and with it are festivals + events that celebrate the uniqueness and variety of Charleston.

Multi-colored confetti floats through the air in front of a white historic-looking Charleston home.

Will you be attending Spoleto this year?

Photo by Leigh Webber / Spoleto Festival USA

Cue the confetti + springtime blossoms. Spring is coming + we’re gearing up to celebrate the season with exciting events around town. From arts + music to food, here are 13 festivals to attend.

The Charleston Festival | Thursday, March 14-Sunday, April 14 | Charleston Historic District | Prices vary | This annual festival is underway featuring tours and special events.

Credit One Charleston Open | Saturday, March 30-Sunday, Apr. 7 | Credit One Stadium, 7596, 161 Seven Farms Drive, Charleston | An annual event that brings tennis to the coast.

The Black Food Truck Festival | Friday, Apr. 26-Sunday Apr. 28 | Exchange Park, 9850 US-78, Ladson | $15-$1,040 | A food truck festival showcasing Black culture, food + music.

Lowcountry Strawberry Festival | Friday, April 5-Sunday, April 14 | Boone Hall Plantation & Gardens, 1235 Long Point Rd., Mount Pleasant | $15-$25 | Attend the second weekend of this event for Midway Madness Night.

Cooper River Bridge Run | Saturday, April 6 | Simmons + Coleman Blvd., Mt. Pleasant | $45-$150 | Feel accomplished with this 10K race over the Cooper River Bridge.

Lowcountry Cajun Festival | Saturday, April 13 | James Island County Park, 871 Riverland Dr. | $35 | Enjoy Zydeco music, Cajun and Creole foods, and kids activities.

Charleston Jazz Festival | Thursday, April 18-Sunday, April 21 | Locations vary | Prices vary | This celebration of jazz heritage features performances by international headliners like Dianne Reeves.

Art Charleston | Wednesday, April 24-Sunday, April 28 | The Gibbes Museum of Art, 135 Meeting St. | Prices vary | Look forward to a culinary street fair, cocktail event, panel discussion, and art fair.

Charleston Cocktail Week | Monday, April 22-Sunday, April 28 | Locations vary | $15 pass | Sip on discounted cocktails at participating bars and restaurants and attend ticketed signature events.

Blessing of the Fleet & Seafood Festival | Sunday, April 28 | Memorial Waterfront Park, 99 Harry M. Hallman Jr. Blvd., Mount Pleasant | Free | Celebrate the local shrimping + fishing industry with a boat parade, live music, and craft show.

Charleston Greek Festival | Friday, May 10-Sunday, May 12 | Greek Orthodox Church of the Holy Trinity, 30 Race St. | $5 | The oldest festival in the Charleston area will include food, wine, live music, and dancing.

Spoleto Festival USA | Wednesday, May 22-Sunday, June 9 | Locations vary | Prices vary | Experience performances by world-renowned artists in opera, dance, music, and theater.

Piccolo Spoleto Festival | Friday, May 24-Sunday, June 9 | Locations vary | Prices vary | This corresponding event celebrates local + regional artists.

Events
We’ve got details and a map full of drink deals: We’ll be highlighting the vibrant beverage scene across Charleston, SC from July 22 to July 26, 2024.
The Charleston Police Department will host some fun in Hampton Park with this Pixar classic.
You can celebrate this French holiday at these Lowcountry spots.
Dance all night to the DJ + make memories that will last a lifetime at the inclusive prom.
“Is It Cake?” cast members from season three are bringing a treat to Charleston.
This new initiative promotes cultural exchange + strengthens the connections between local art, history, and science spots.