Why is Charleston called the Holy City?

French Huguenot Church

French Huguenot Church | Photo by @emoutdoors

Charleston is believed to be called the “Holy City” because of its history of religious tolerance + abundant places of worship. Today, the city skyline is defined by over 400 church steeples and many different religions are practiced around town. While diverse faiths are now recognized, it is important to note that the city became tolerant over time.

Here is a timeline showing the early history of some places of worship in Charleston, but not all.