Support Us Button Widget

Charleston RiverDogs win the championship, city’s first title in 99 years

RiverDogs win their first-ever title

RiverDogs win their first-ever title | Photo by Brian Principe Photography

The Charleston RiverDogs have been crowned 2021 Low-A East Champions, the team’s first title in franchise history + the city’s first minor league title in almost a century.

The Dogs won the 5-game playoff series after their 9-2 victory last Sunday over the NC Down East Wood Ducks. The local team won the first 2 games of the series and lost the second 2, before securing the title at a winner-take-all showdown at The Joe.

Let’s rewind. This isn’t the only minor league baseball championship win in the Holy City. The Charleston Seagulls won a title in 1908 and the Charleston Pals became champs in 1922.

Check out this message from RiverDogs Director of Fun Bill Murray to Charleston before the winning game.