We’re spotlighting 10 Charleston theaters

A guide to enjoying plays, performances, and theaters in the 843.

271296185_504979257507468_1144068016065416628_n.jpg

Visit the Sottile Theatre downtown.

Photo by @themikeledford, @collegeofcharleston

We’re putting Charleston’s lively performing arts scene in the spotlight. Ladies and gentlemen, without further ado, here are 10 theaters and performance venues around town, plus a few shows you may want to add to your calendar.

Sottile Theatre | 44 George St. | This theater serves the College of Charleston and the community. Upcoming performances include:

  • Palmetto City Ballet Youth Showcase | Saturday, April 20-Sunday, April 21
  • Charleston Youth Company | Friday, April 26-Saturday, April 27

Charleston Gaillard Center | 95 Calhoun St. | The center was named after a previous mayor of Charleston. It has year-round music, dance, comedy, theater, and family programs. Upcoming shows:

  • “Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony” | Friday, April 19-Saturday, April 20
  • “Live from Laurel Canyon” | Sunday, April 21

Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre | 164 Church St. | This spot is Charleston’s only live comedy mystery theater. Pro tip: You can volunteer to play a character. Shows include:

  • “Inspector NoClue’s Murder Mystery Show” | Shows recur several times a week, days vary
  • “Mack Black: Ghost Detective” | Shows recur several times a week, days vary

Dock Street Theatre | 135 Church St. | This spot is known as America’s first theater. Charleston Stage, is the theater company in residence at Dock Street, here’s a peek at the 2024-25 season:

  • “Beautiful” | Now-Sunday, April 28
  • “A Year with Frog and Toad” | Saturday, July 20-Sunday, July 21 + Saturday, July 27-Sunday, July 28
Screenshot 2023-02-13 at 4.08.26 PM.png

Catch a show at the historic Dock Street Theatre.

Photo by @james_simpson_photography

Theatre 99 | 280 Meeting St. | This improv comedy hub offers shows based on audience suggestions. Prepare to laugh at one of these shows:

  • Stand-up Comedy Rodeo | Tuesday, April 23
  • Improv Comedy Shows | Every Wednesday-Saturday

34 West | 200 Meeting St., Ste.100 | Shows are written by 34 West’s own actors and designers. Here’s a glance at some upcoming shows:

  • “The Golden Girls Live” | Friday, May 3-Saturday, June 1
  • “Hooked on a Feeling” | Friday, June 14-Saturday, July 20

Queen Street Playhouse | 20 Queen St. | Home of the Footlight Players, this is the city’s original theater company. Below are some shows you can watch in its 93rd season.

  • “Jekyll + Hyde The Musical” | Friday, Aug. 23-Sunday, Aug. 25 + Friday, Aug. 30-Saturday, Aug. 31, Sunday, Sept. 1 + Friday, Sept. 6-Sunday, Sept. 8
  • “The Minutes” | Friday, Oct. 4-Sunday, Oct. 20

James F. Dean Theatre | 133 S. Main St., Summerville | See the Flowertown Players perform in this historic theater’s 48th season. There are main stage shows, youth productions, and a studio series.

  • “9 to 5 the Musical” | Friday, May 3-Sunday, May 19
  • “Disney’s Beauty and the Beast” | Friday, Aug. 2-Sunday, Aug.18

Holy City Magic | 49 1/2 John St. | See where the magic happens with performances by magicians including Howard Blackwell and Gogo Cuerva.

  • Shows are performed every Friday and Saturday unless otherwise listed.
  • There are matinees for families.

PURE Theatre | 134 Cannon St. | This professional regional theater is in its 21st season.

  • “The Roomare” | Now-Saturday, April 27

The North Charleston Performing Arts Center plays host to Broadway shows. The 2024-2025 lineup was revealed, and seven hits from the Theater District will take center stage including “Tina,” “Ain’t Too Proud,” and “Mamma Mia.”

Heads up: This isn’t a comprehensive list. Know of another spot we should highlight? Shoot us a message.